The old village is dominated by the Romanesque church St Marcel and the ruins of the castle. It was surrounded by ramparts pierced by two doors. Today, it remains the unique street of the town located outside the walls with some vestiges.
The etymology of Soyans comes from Soant then Soiantz, it would have a Celtic root meaning "rock". Remains of the old village: cast iron license plate from the middle of the 19th century, semicircular lintel bearing the date of 1686 and the IHS monogram, arch in brace and iron cross on column.
At the end of the street, the house was that of Joseph Rivière. It is decorated with a Renaissance decoration of uncertain origin.
Joseph Rivière, talented artist born in Bordeaux in 1912 is at the origin of the revival of the village and the restoration of the chapel St Marcel
All year round, daily.
Perché sur sa colline, les abords offre un panorama magnifique sur les alentours.
- Pets welcome
- Not accessible in a wheelchair